History of the Club

Established in 1987, the Sunbury Rovers commenced playing in the Riddell and District Football League playing home games in Diggers Rest before heading to Eric Boardman Reserve in Sunbury the ground where the club has built its history and calls home to this day.


While the club battled hard in the years following its inception, on field success was hard to come by. Players such as current games record holder Paul Noonan (401 games) stayed loyal and in 2002 a group of passionate Rovers committee members took the opportunity to rebrand the club, becoming the Sunbury Kangaroos Football Club.

The Sunbury Kangaroos continued to grow, making a huge step in expanding the diversity of their members by creating a netball arm of the club in 2004. The name was once again changed to reflect this, with the club now being known as the Sunbury Kangaroos Football Netball Club. Despite the changes, the traditional blue and white jumper has always remained, albeit with a few small changes along the way, including the addition of the Kangaroo to accompany the stripes on the front.

The crowning glory of the club occurred in the Grand Final of 2012, when club legend Chris Meacham sent the ball sailing through the goals as the siren sounded to give the club their one and only Senior Premiership, defeating the Romsey Football Club by 3 Points. While Chris and co-coach Jamie Cuffe were the ones to hold up the cup that day, the result was the culmination of the hard work by many loyal and devoted Rovers/Kangaroos members in the 25 years that preceded it, many of which turned up to the party to celebrate. The Sunbury Kangaroos have won also won 5 premierships in Reserves Grade (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015 and 2017) and tasted the ultimate success in C grade netball in 2008 and 2013.

Individual triumph has also come the way of the Kangaroos, with Nicole Furlong winning the Ryan Medal in 2005 as the Best and Fairest player in the A grade netball competition. On two occasions a SKFNC player has collected the prestigious Bowen Medal for the Senior Football Best and Fairest; Daniel Bonnici in 2007 and Dylan Murphy in 2014.

A proud moment for many at the club was when Roarke Smith become the first SKFNC player to be drafted to the AFL, with the Western Bulldogs selecting him at pick number 5 in the 2015 Rookie Draft. Roarke made his debut in round 21 of 2015 when he lined up against the West Coast Eagles at Subiaco.

In 2017 the Kangaroos continued to expand, fielding a female football side for the first time. Playing in the Women’s Goldfields Football League, the players did the club proud finishing the home and away season in 3rd position, a wonderful achievement considering many players were playing the game for the first time. In 2018 the girls moved leagues to the EDFL where they continue to see fantastic results.

Reach Us

Eric Boardman Reserve,
Sunbury VIC 3429
0400 408 019

    Leave A Message